“When I returned home from Vietnam, I stuffed all of my memories as far down as I could. Many of my brothers came back to years to drug & alcohol use, to stuff feeling no one would ever tell us that would follow us home. It was twenty years later when the Gulf War flip my switch and all those memories flooded out. I drank to try & keep them down, but It was like pouring gasoline on a fire to extinguish it, moments later only to have it just explode”
— Bob Curry - Vietnam Veteran & Founder of Dryhootch

Many individuals with PTSD will turn to drugs or alcohol as a way to numb their pain or to gain some measure of control in their lives, only to find out the relief was only momentary. Both the national studies veterans of Vietnam and our current Wars on Terrorism both find over 80% of those with combat PTSD issues will develop addiction issues.

And before a veteran can deal with PTSD, family readjustment, legal problems, employment, school, etc., they must first find a way to stop using.

Dryhootch has Peer Programs dedicated to work alongside veterans trying to deal with issues of addiction, as well as those other pieces they may have brought back from the war with them. We have worked with the VA and experts on addiction like the Medical College of Wisconsin to develop a program that address the culture and language of the military.

Stop by a Dryhootch today and find a brother or sister of the shit who will never judge. Because our Peer have battled these demons and found a way home. And being there to shine a light to those who follow us, helps us remain sober everyday.

Or Join us online every Thursday at 11am EST, 10am CST, 8am Pacific.